Cult TV Essentials

Cult TV Essentials: Warrior of Love Rainbowman

Warrior of Love Rainbowman was a tokusatsu series created by Kōhan Kawauchi. It was the first superhero TV series produced by Toho Company Ltd., and ran from October 6th 1972 to September 18th 1973 for a total of 52 episodes.

The series focuses on pro wrestler Takeshi Yamato (played by Kunihisa Mizutani), a young man who, after training in India with the yogi sage Devadatta, gains the ability to transform into a superhero called Rainbowman.

Rainbowman possesses seven different superhero forms called “Dashes”, with the seven Dashes representing yin and yang (the Moon and the Sun) and the five elements (wu xing) of ancient Chinese philosophy. Each Dash has a colour-coded costume and powers related to that element:

  • Dash 1 = Moon (yellow)
  • Dash 2 = Fire (red)
  • Dash 3 = Water (blue)
  • Dash 4 = Wood (green)
  • Dash 5 = Metal (gold)
  • Dash 6 = Earth (brown)
  • Dash 7 = Sun (white)


1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.